Just Call Me the “Bloginater”

Posted: June 4, 2012 in The Art of Publishing

Okay. So now I’m officially a “blogger”. That’s just what the world needs, one more puffed-up blowhard using the Internet to set the record straight and then pat himself on the back (oh, damn, I think I just strained my elbow!). So why do it then, you ask? Good question, I reply. So do you want the truth? (Envision this: my face just turned tomato can red, my cheeks puffed out and a nasty purple vein popped out on my temple – sort of like a Chedderhead version of Jack Nicholson in A Few Good Men). To paraphrase Mr. Nicholson: “I can’t handle the truth!” 

I’m doing it because my editor said if I don’t I’m a total nimrod. 

Actually, he said any “author” (using that term loosely) worth more than a hill of refried beans has to blog so they can develop a following and eventually SELL BOOKS.  Writers of all shapes and sizes are diving (or being pushed) into social media even though most are way more comfortable in their wrinkled jammies plunking away on their laptops. Writing is essentially a solitary art and most writers would prefer that their books do the talking for them. Just ask J.D. Salinger of The Catcher in the Rye fame; he wanted nothing to do with the public and the media and took it the point of almost becoming a recluse for decades. But the times they are a’ changing… 

So, my blog today is about why I’m blogging. How’s that for one heck of topic? Maybe next time I’ll write about my world famous butterscotch and chocolate chip muffin recipe. Or maybe how just this morning I picked up eight wet bath towels off my dirtball son’s crusty floor and put them in the wash (regular cycle, cold water). If pearls like that won’t sell books, I don’t know what will. 

Mr. Salinger, you have no idea of all of the fun you missed.  

Comments
  1. mcmaurer says:

    I guess I’m becoming a blogger too ! I find your writing so witty and downright funny. spose this is a good way to develop a following as you say. Eight dirty towels from one lonely kid? I don’t use 8 towels in 6 months – cold cycle too, of course, when I do wash them. Keep it coming oh great one. And I believe I am a Luddite as well and proud of it ! Go back to siimple, world !

Leave a Reply

