Bless Me Father For I Have Sinned…

Posted: June 6, 2012 in The Art of Writing

I’ve read a dozen times that any writer worth their salt should read, read, and then read some more. The belief is that the written words bombarding the brain will stimulate the neurons until they are so fat and sassy creative juices will literally drip off their sheaths. The next step is those very same neurons will send a golden string of words toward the writer’s fingertips that will fill page after page. Read, they say, feed thy brain!

Then why do I not read as much as I should?

Am I ignorant? (82% answered “yes”, 18% said “too soon to tell”) Stubborn? (My wife says “yes”. Case closed.) Or maybe I think I do the best I can? (Winner, winner, chicken dinner!) Between work, chores, kids, sleep, writing, sports, etc. etc. my reading is less than optimal. But can I take a short cut and listen my way to creative glory through song lyrics? I say maybe. How about channeling Springsteen’s imagery: (“Barefoot girl sitting on the hood of a Dodge, drinking warm beer in the soft summer rain”); Patti Smith’s defiance: (“Jesus died for somebody’s sins but not mine”); Pete Townshend’s poetry: (“Only love can make it rain on me, the way the beach is kissed by the sea”); The Ramones nonsense: (Gabba gabba hey!”). So all things considered, I do the best I can to kickstart my brain and hit my aging neurons with all they can handle. Is it so bad that I chose to do it with a power C chord ringing in my ears at the same time?

Comments are welcome. And I promise I’ll read them after the next song ends.

 

Comments
  1. mcmaurer says:

    Far out. I am amazed by your thoughts and cleverness. If only I had a bit of it. Wowie.

Leave a Reply

