Hey, Hey We’re The Monkees!

Posted: June 13, 2012 in The Art of Writing

I’ve been asked more than once a very simple question about writing, “How did you ever think of that?” I interpret that question in a variety of ways: 1) “That’s really weird dude, there is something seriously wrong with you.” 2) “I don’t really want to know the answer because then I think I’ll be afraid.” 3) “Wow, Paul, you look so regular on the outside.” 4) “I really, truly wonder how you think of all that stuff.” Okay, so this blog is for anyone who voted for Number 4. The rest of you can talk to my team of therapists but under HIPPA laws they cannot reveal any of my miscellaneous mental defects. 

With apologies to The Monkees (RIP Davy Jones), I truly am a Daydream Believer. I can honestly say that some of my best storyline twists come at times when I am miles from my laptop. In the car (radio on or off), pulling weeds, riding a bike or walking the dog are typical times when random thoughts bounce around my head. And what is the common denominator there? I’m alone (except for Theodore the dog) and my mind can travel to Happyland or Darksville or wherever else it is destined to go. I’ve rushed in the door after a dog-walk and jotted down notes, scribbled on a receipt in the car (no worse than texting, I’d say) and memorized a thought while biking so that it became tattooed on my brain. Last week my son discovered thoughts captured in both a notebook and in the overhead recorder built into the Trailblazer (it’s amazing how droid-like my voice is on tape). The point is when inspiration strikes (or crap, it all depends on your point of view) a writer better grab that puppy by the scruff of the neck and capture it any way possible. 

So there. Is everything clearer now that I …umm, what was I saying? I just had a random thought about a vegetarian T-Rex with a bad complexion… I’ll finish this blog after I write down that bit of brilliance on the back of my hand.

Comments
  1. mcmaurer says:

    You are a riot ! Man, and all I think about is pulling those weeds, cleaning that toilet, making that lasagna for the King. You are deep, man. And I miss Davey.

    • mommma burnze says:

      I was thinking you should just splurge and buy a small notebook like your nephew and keep in your pocket. But, that would be too boring, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

