It’s a Blog, Blog, Blog World

Posted: January 31, 2013 in Marketing

I don’t spend my time on the Internet on more than on a casual basis. I’m intellectually stunted and for the most part I stick to my list of “favorites” that consists of ESPN, The Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel, Rotoworld (fantasy football!), Grantland and e-mail. Given the literally millions of websites to visit that’s a sad statement on my inquisitiveness and desire to explore the unknown. But in the last few months as I’m pushed out of my comfort zone in an attempt to promote my work, I discovered a whole new world beneath the touch of the keyboard.

It’s a blogosphere of incredible proportions. There are blogs for everything from canning tomatoes to the sexual proclivities of an Aborigine warrior (Okay, I jest. I’m still searching for that one.) My point being that if you want somebody’s opinion on next to anything it’s out there for the taking. Lately I’ve been requesting reviews of my young adult novel, TOUCHED, to a whole variety of bloggers whose whole existence is exactly that – reviewing young adult novels in order to get the word out for authors, publishers and publicists. Blogs like www.keepingitrealwithlucy.blogspot.com , www.yabookcentral.com and www.annareads.com are like mushrooms in the Internet landscape. Followers of various blogs number from dozens to thousands and they all play a role in getting the word out of new releases from the blockbuster to the self-published.

So ESPN will just have to wait for me to return another day. I’ll be back but first I have to see if Lucy Is Keeping It As Real as she says. And to the nine followers of my humble blog, thanks for tuning in. You’ll be the first to know if I find out anything more on those horny Aborigines.

Comments
  1. mcmaurer says:

    It’s a whole new world to me too. I clicked on the sites you have and the lucy one says there is no blog on this. The other two are, but I have no clue how to find your book review on there. How does a person register a review for you? xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

